When I delete a comment on Lemmy, people can still see that there used to be a comment by me that I later deleted. What’s the reasoning for that?

Edit: changed “post” to “comment”.

  • 🇰 🌀 🇱 🇦 🇳 🇦 🇰 🇮 @pawb.social
    link
    fedilink
    English
    arrow-up
    11
    ·
    2 months ago

    Decentralization. It’s duplicated over onto other instances and it takes a while to show up somewhere other than where you posted and get deleted. There is also the possibility that an instance could not respect the deletion request or the request simply never makes it there.